Doherty Diana

Oboe Marigaux

Doherty Diana

Diana was born in Brisbane, where she began her education. She attended Brisbane State High School. She studied both piano and oboe at the Queensland Conservatorium of Music before completing her Bachelor of Arts in Music Performance at the Victorian College of the Arts in Melbourne, from where she was awarded the M.E.N.S.A prize for the top graduating student.

She has studied in Zürich with Thomas Indermuhle and also taken courses with Maurice Bourgue.

She has won prizes in the International Lyceum Club Competition; the International Chamber Music Competition in Martigny; and the Prague Spring Festival Competition.

Diana performs regularly as a soloist at various international festivals: the Prague Spring Festival; the MusicaRiva festival in Italy; Bratislava Music Festival; the Young Artist in Concert Festival in Davos, Switzerland.

She has toured extensively within the United States, doing recitals and masterclasses, as well as performing in the Chamber Music series at the Spoleto Festival USA in Charleston, South Carolina, and a concerto performance at the Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts.

From 1990 to 1997, Diana was Principal Oboe in the Symphony Orchestra of Lucerne. In July 1997 she returned to Australia and joined the Sydney Symphony as Principal Oboe.

In 2001 Diana won the Australian Entertainment Mo Award for Classical/Opera performer of the year, and in 2003 received the APRA Australian Music Centre award for best performance of an Australian work.

She premiered Ross Edwards’ Oboe Concerto in 2002, under the baton of Lorin Maazel. This unusual work includes choreography for the oboist-cum-dancer. Maazel invited her to play and dance it with the New York Philharmonic in 2005, and Diana Doherty has since become particularly associated with the concerto.

She has recorded the Ross Edwards concerto, as well as works by Haydn, Mozart, Martinu, Bernd Alois Zimmermann, Graeme Koehne, Carl Vine, and others, with orchestras such as the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, Lucerne Symphony Orchestra, Sydney Symphony, Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra, Sinfonia Australis, and the Queensland Orchestra, and under conductors such as Arvo Volmer, Olaf Henzold, Takuo Yuasa, Ola Rudner, Marl Summerbell and Werner Andreas Albert.